Beachwood’s Animal Kingdom

June 7, 2013 § Leave a comment

During the past week, I’ve discovered both coyote and racoon footprints on the sheet that covers my outdoor chaise longue, proof that both have been inside my fenced yard. Though I frequently see coyotes outside my house, I had never seen a racoon until Monday evening, when this one passed by my back door.

A Visiting Racoon 6/3/13/All Photos Hope Anderson Productions

It got in by scaling down the branches that cover the steep hillside behind my back fence. Here it is in retreat:
H9MLWCBhjFVw0UrsJhPWvPSB60p0RNd3WFnSA8Cz37A
GGBima5aH0e45pNO5OaeTBGF21yraa3KVSdxHA4-3zo

I ended the week with a much tamer animal encounter, though it was just as unexpected. This afternoon three horses were hitched up outside the Beachwood Cafe, calmly waiting for their owners to finish their lunch. They had come through Griffith Park and were in Beachwood for the first time, but they seemed very much at home here.
1lX1lvhhJ7A8_J0d_D1zlilAZJbzZ1K30tCAOHvtVz8

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Beachwood’s Animal Kingdom at Under the Hollywood Sign.

meta

