Patrolled By Coyote

May 15, 2013 § 3 Comments

Hollywoodland Coyote, 5/8/13/Hope Anderson Productions

Hollywoodland Coyote, 5/8/13/Hope Anderson Productions


Recently I was driving through Hancock Park, my former neighborhood, when I noticed a house with a sign reading “Armed Guard on Premises.” Although break-ins are common there–I was a victim twice–this seemed an extreme measure, so I asked my niece who lives nearby about it. “They just say that,” she said. “There’s no armed guard.”

Now I live in Hollywoodland, where a steady stream of tourists headed for the Hollywood Sign passes my house each day and coyotes patrol by night. Actually, coyotes patrol by day as well, as these photos, taken on a recent midday–attest. This is the big-eared coyote that appeared in a post a few months ago, and these days I see it often. At night, I often hear coyotes hunting vermin on the hillside above my house, a circle-of-life function that goes naturally with nocturnal lurking.

2013-05-08 11.28.30

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Patrolled By Coyote

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Patrolled By Coyote at Under the Hollywood Sign.

meta

